Skip to content

Sometimes the ‘Girls’ on HBO are really dumb

July 7, 2012

Girls has become the television sensation of the year. Why? Because it’s on HBO. Probably also because of all the nudity and sex scenes.

The cast of Girls on HBO

The cast of Girls on HBO: Jemima Kirke, Allison Williams, Lena Dunham and Zosia Mamet. (Courtesy HBO)

It’s also a sensation because it’s funny, well-written and doesn’t hide behind any façade of what some girls are really like. That’s right, I pulled out a fancy word for wall because this show deserves it.

I initially had no interest in this show, writing it off, like so many, as Sex & the City with 20-year-olds. Besides both Girls and Sex & the City chronicle the lives of four friends living in New York City, these two shows couldn’t be farther apart from each other. Where SATC was melodramatic and covered in a thick New York smog blanket of fabulosity and a men-are-from-Mars-women-are-from-Venus mentality, Girls is openly honest, realistic and brash. Lena Dunham’s Hannah Horvath (real last name, by the way – I was surprised too) is self-entitled, frumpy, selfish and a rambling idiot.

That’s what’s been the most intriguing aspect of the show for me: Hannah and her Friends, Marnie, Jessa and Shoshanna, have got to be some of the dumbest chicks you will ever meet. They’re dense about relationships, careers – common sense (episode two comes to mind). They are whiny, slightly obnoxious and they screw with people’s emotions. They are girls and they can be awful.

At a sculpted and groomed Vogue shoot in the spring, the cast of Girls flipped their hair and talked about what it meant to be on the show.

 

I’m not really getting the whole female empowerment vibe from this show, and I don’t understand why shows with female protagonists always have to have a message or agenda. Why can’t it just be a show about a group of four really dumb girls, who think they are going to have these amazing lives in the Big Apple and then learn that it’s really hard? That’s the only message I’ve picked up on so far: life involves work and compromise as well as dreams and ambition.

Need everyone be reminded also that this show is called Girls, not Women or Ladies (a term that, for me, will only ever conjure images of prim ladies of the Jane Austin era); they are juvenile and have no idea what they are doing half the time.

What I really marvel at is show creator, writer, star and frequent director, Lena Dunham. She has sewn together a tight, structured show with just enough absurdity mixed in an unadorned reality. The show is funny because it’s true, as they say, unlike some other shows with the word girls in their title, which are not funny, real or clever. (I refer to the comedy classic Girls With No Money or Personality – sorry 2 Broke Girls. I’ve never watched this show, but seeing the promos with the main characters in their fake waitress costumes was enough for me to tell that I would want to punch myself in the brain if I watched a whole episode.)

A lot of people seem to either love Girls or hate it: it’s either obnoxious or brilliant. I say it’s obnoxiously brilliant. I would probably hate these girls in real life, but on a television show they’re naïveté is hilarious and endearing.

Also I can’t wait for season 2 when Donald Glover from Community will be on, and also, hopefully, the return of Kev-bot.

 

Kev-bot!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2012 3:30 pm

    This is an absolutely perfect understanding of this show. I really couldn’t agree more. Honestly of try but I just couldn’t. So excited for little Donald. I wonder what his character will be like?

    PS I totally had I dream about Kev-Bot! (sorry I dream cheated on you with your future dream husband).

  2. July 10, 2012 9:03 am

    Donald Glover is going to be amazing!!!

  3. July 11, 2012 3:43 am

    Yeah don’t understand the female empowerment…

    They are turning into “role models”… terrific.

    http://gawker.com/5924881/22+year+old-is-very-upset-that-she-didnt-get-to-be-poor-for-a-while

    I give it another two seasons.

    • July 11, 2012 8:21 am

      Yeah, there’s not much to go on past 2 seasons. It’s all pretty superficial stuff which is why it’s fun to watch. I wouldn’t want it to get into anything serious.

      • July 11, 2012 10:31 am

        If it got too serious it wouldn’t be funny anymore. Sex & the City got like that for me. It was so earnest and got all wrapped up in all that epic love crap.

      • July 11, 2012 10:52 am

        And then they made a movie! I’m sorry two movies. How they hell did I wind up seeing those!

    • July 11, 2012 10:29 am

      That’s a great article. Yup, set for life that one is. Editorial assistants are always guaranteed job security.

      I don’t think this show has too many seasons in it – 4 seasons in all, tops.

Trackbacks

  1. TV screenings at VFS and choosing what to spec | The Omnium Gatherum

What's your take?

