Skip to content

PaleyFest a.k.a. TV Heaven

March 1, 2012

Seriously, an entire week that celebrates some of the best and brightest shows on television today? Yes, I will accept this into my life. PaleyFest 2012 marks the 29th year of the Paley Center for Media’s TV festival. Basically, you get to watch TV shows and then listen to a panel discussion of cast members, producers, directors and writers of the shows. Regrettably, I will not be down at the actual festival in LA, which goes March 2-14, but luckily for all of the sad, unfortunate souls such as myself we can watch all 13 events on Livestream.

This is an important event – as one of the clips on the home page attests, some lady with a really awesome haircut and superb style met her husband in the lineup at a previous PaleyFest. So clearly the social fabric of our world depends on this festival.

But in all seriousness (which is about a tablespoon full if you must know), the festival is a great way to see inside the magical world of television. It’s a chance to step inside the television set and see how it all works. By the way, if someone could figure out a way for me to go into a television set and become part of whatever’s on at that time, that would fulfill a lifelong fantasy of mine, thanks.

This year’s lineup is a mix of established popular shows and recent breakout hits – Bones, Mad MenAmerican Horror Story, New Girl, to name a few, with a good balance of drama and comedy.

I’m excited to listen to cast members, producers and writers of some of the shows. In celebration of the greatest two weeks ever concocted, I shall be blogging after some of the panel discussions. (No, I will not be live blogging as I always give my full attention to the television gods.) So look for a fascinating blog post each on Community, New Girl, Parks and Recreation, The Vampire Diaries and Modern Family. It’s those shows and not the other slew because that’s mainly what I watch. And nobody cares about the shows I don’t watch, obviously. (I also watch Castle so depending on how well I do on blogging about the other shows, I may write on it too.)

Enjoy the show!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2012 11:17 am

    What?! Why did we not know about this earlier! We could have driven to LA to listen to Ian Sommerhalder (or however ever the hell you spell his name). Next year. It shall be the ultimate road trip.

  2. March 3, 2012 2:10 pm

    I’m watching SMASH & AWAKE and I’m LOVING THEM!

    I may have to abandon SS GG…

    SO far the only UK show I’ve LOVED is “The Model Agency”

    • March 3, 2012 6:49 pm

      Smash has been intriguing so far. I just hope it doesn’t get too Glee-esque. I watched the pilot for Awake and thought it was pretty good. It’s kind of stupid though because the psychiatrists he’s seeing don’t seem concerned at all that he’s basically acting schizophrenic!

      • March 4, 2012 7:19 pm

        I am very surprised that I am liking SMASH. Indeed it better not turn into Glee. Or I will quit it so fast. Less songs, more witty dialogue and NO preaching.

        Yes, GG will be sinking any day now, so no need to jump ship if you’re like me and love watching a good train wreck.

What's your take?

