Skip to content

Enough about Facebook already

January 26, 2012

After spending numerous hours of my awake life on the Internetto (that’s Spanish for “crazy web of facts and lies”), I’ve come to the conclusion that there are as many people talking smack about Facebook and their hatred of the incessant, rambling chatter its users partake in as there are Facebook users who post such crap in the first place.

The number of people writing op-eds, blog posts and generally complaining about how their Facebook friends don’t use the social media site to say anything intelligent or useful seems so high, I’m surprised these people even still have friends. Admittedly, I myself wrote an editorial on post overload a year ago (on page 7). I was attempting to make a point, of course.

Like most Internet users, I’ve had a Facebook account for a while now (is there anyone out that is only just hopping on the bandwagon now? If you are, I say don’t bother), and I’ve had just about enough of its Vortex of Unreality, stalker-inducing tendencies (as in A) Facebook users creeping on other people, and B) I feel like Facebook is stalking me personally); and worst of all, its constant design and interface changes. My least favorite “improvements” include when they implemented the option to ‘like’ your own posts, and later marked posts made by yourself as ones you might be particularly interested in with a clever blue triangle.

That’s the rub – Facebook is just another time-waster. It has useful applications, such as staying in touch with long distance friends and relatives (although there’s also this thing called email that’s also free), but mostly it’s pretty dumb.

So whether or not you’re talking about the amazing bubble bath you had or are complaining about having to read about said bubble bath, maybe you should just close your browser and let Facebook take a little nap. Personally, I think it’s imperative we all do so, before our faces turn into books.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 10:50 am

    Honestly, I probably shouldn’t use FB mainly because I don’t go on it often enough for it to be useful to me or anyone, actually. Por ejemplo, I like to message someone asking a fairly timely question and then I don’t log on until a week later–very effective. So instead I’m just attached to my phone…

  2. January 26, 2012 10:56 am

    That’s the ridiculous thing about Facebook: it doesn’t really do anything that a phone or email can do. I don’t know why I have an account either, although it’s not like I use it.

  3. Devon permalink
    January 26, 2012 12:25 pm

    I find it is quite handy to use to stay close with distant relatives, likes Uncles, Aunts and cousins…and I guess my immediate family, but I can just phone them. Friends I would phone or text before facebooking them, unless it is a collective e-mail. Usually I use it to post clever status’ and retorts and have people laugh and call me funny…but that isn’t happening so much anymore so I think people have stopped using it.

    Or I’m just not funny anymore…but it’s probably not that.

    • January 26, 2012 5:24 pm

      It does seem like there are fewer people who are on FB on a regular basis. That’s what I wrote my editorial about last year: if you don’t have something interesting, creative or funny to say, maybe don’t share it.

      I still enjoy your posts!

  4. January 26, 2012 6:03 pm

    I think Facebook actually has a new purpose in kickstarting the ailing tech sector. It has spawned a whole industry of app makers and consequently apps, that allow people to invite their FB friends to use these apps and then post that they using said apps (such as the ones that end in –ville. Add whatever prefix you prefer). This then allows all the unemployed, disgruntled, and disenfranchised to find new ways to entertain each other by either having hundreds of ” — ville” posts on their walls or hundreds of posts complaining about those posts. Think of all the game designers who would be out of work without Facebook.

  5. January 30, 2012 1:45 pm

    I feel like I probably had a bubble bath related status once in my life…

    SO for that one, HOW DARE YOU!

    I kinda like to think of my Facebook as a kind of scrap book, time line helps that… kinda.

    I can look back at old videos I was obsessed about or what model I chose for my profile photo.

    It keeps me updated on important things I’ve hidden almost everyone from my dashboard… it is easier to scroll down than opening 20+ blogs and news sites.

    BUT the internet is my soul mate and I’m going to die alone so my word isn’t worth much.

    TUMBLR is a HUGE time waster with almost zero productive/positive outcomes and I love it…

    Without Facebook we wouldn’t have the great line ” The Internet’s not written in pencil, it’s written in ink” – The Social Network

    ALSO Jesse Eisenberg Wouldn’t Be An OSCAR NOMINEE!

Trackbacks

  1. Facebook: Observations « I love a lot
  2. TV screenings at VFS and choosing what to spec | The Omnium Gatherum

What's your take?

