Skip to content

NBC is a Pathetic Peacock

November 9, 2011

NBC is still in dire straights when it comes to its prime time slots and if not for Sunday Night Football would tie the Spanish-language network Univision in the 18-49 ratings category, says a New York Times story. That’s pretty pathetic, even for a network that’s been pathetic for some time now.

Current logo created by Chermayeff & Geismar u...

Image via Wikipedia

NBC has already cut Free Agents and The Playboy Club. I never tuned in to the latter (not that I even had a chance it was canceled so fast), but I did check out the former and let me just say it was dullsville. I’m a fan of both Hank Azaria and Kathryn Hahn so I was disappointed that within the first five minutes I knew this was a dud and had absolutely no spark or unique quality to it. Clearly whatever magic the original British version had did not translate to the American one.

I remember when the majority of the shows I watched were on NBC. Must-See TV Thursday was literally a must because everyone watched those shows, from Seinfeld to Frasier. In its hey day, NBC had long-running shows with strong fan bases. The problem as I see it is they didn’t prepare for when those shows were to inevitably end. Instead they got greedy with ratings and held on to shows for way too long. I love Friends and own all the seasons on DVD, but when I actually sit down and watch them, I rarely pick up seasons nine and ten. They literally make me cringe. And I lovethat show. Seriously, I quote it way more than is healthy.

A simple strategy to me would be to focus on producing fewer, more quality shows the way cable networks do. One big hit can turn things around for an entire network. Look at Modern Family. ABC is going to be making serious money off that show for years to come.

What’s for certain is NBC has to do something fast. Apparently their prime time woes are even slowly beginning to affect powerhouses Today and Nightly News! That’s a scary thought considering Today has been the number one morning show for 16 years.

Obviously there is a show out there that with the right cast and crew could be a monster hit. The other networks don’t seem to be having any problems finding them. Come on NBC, make the peacock proud again!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aviva permalink
    November 11, 2011 12:24 pm

    Thank you for coming out an saying this on the world wide web! I actually get sad for NBC. I miss must-see TV Thursdays. I always felt a connection with NBC, somehow they were like the network for young people, ABC for the family and CBS for the boring. But, lately NBC is in pergatory. Shake your tale feathers!!

    • November 11, 2011 12:36 pm

      I feel the same way. I grew up watching so many great shows on NBC and I just want to see them succeed again!

  2. November 16, 2011 2:30 pm

    I’m looking forward to Awake & Smash

    I miss Southland & Kings 😦

    • November 16, 2011 3:19 pm

      Smash could be good – like an adult Glee. Now they’ve put Community and Prime Suspect on hiatus, and Prime Suspect was supposed to be a huge hit. Southland got picked up by TNT though right? I never started rewatching, but I should. It was so gut!

What's your take?

