Skip to content

Thinking About Thinking for Myself

October 19, 2011

I read an article on the Huffington Post a while back about organically grown food. The Rodale Institute published a 30-year study comparing organic farming practices with conventional methods. It concluded that organic farming is far better for the soil and the environment and that organic farms are “better equipped to feed us now and well into the ever changing future.”

As as a strong advocate for organic food and someone who tries to stay informed about the subject, I read this and instead of feeling pleased with the results of the study, I was merely frustrated. Evidence for the superiority of organic farming methods has existed for a long time now. It doesn’t take a study to see the poor conditions of lands that have been using pesticides, herbicides and chemical fertilizers after so many years.

With regards to the HuffPo report on the study I was really annoyed with the remarks about how organic food hasn’t been proven to be healthier than food grown with pesticides. “Some say that pesticide residue clinging to conventional produce could be dangerous,” the article reads, “but others, including the USDA, have said that it’s harmless.” Because the USDA has never been wrong about anything before.

I’m not one for conspiracy theories, but when it comes to organizations like the USDA and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, I tend to take what they have to say with a grain of salt. They are influenced by outside companies and lobby groups and unfortunately a lot of the time the people who run them have their own political agendas.

At the end of the day, I trust my own instincts, research and personal experiences over conflicting studies and government bodies. Sometimes my beliefs line up, sometimes they don’t. I take these kinds of stories as thoughtful reminders that every person is responsible for their own well-being and that you can’t rely 100% on some overstuffed group to take care of you.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Devon permalink
    October 19, 2011 1:19 pm

    Oh first blog! Exciting!

    I agree that organic is better for you, and the environment. What annoys me is how damn expensive it all is!! I want to eat healthier, but a lot of the time I cannot afford it and must submit to buying chemically enhanced vegetables that are less expensive.

    The same goes for meat. I try to buy free-run chicken (when it is on sale) because the chemicals in non-free run chickens causes me to break out into hives on the back of my neck. Also my lips swell and they’re already pretty big…

    Congrats on the blog!

    • October 19, 2011 2:04 pm

      It really is unfortunate that organic has a higher price tag attached to it. Some of the reasoning behind that is the high cost of organic certification as well as the increased labor costs of running an organic farm. The catch-22 about getting prices to come down is demand has to go up. So the more people buy organic (at the current prices), the lower the prices will get and the supply will then increase (that Microeconomics 100 class I took is finally coming in handy). The good news is that as a consumer, even from a few years ago I’ve noticed more organic food at grocery stores, and more of it is going on sale on a regular basis.

      You’re lips don’t seem abnormally large to me.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. October 19, 2011 2:11 pm

    Well said! …if we all started boycotting “food” that is unhealthy, the price of organically grown products would magically start to decrease because there would be more suppliers … and hey…@ Devon … if chicken bothers you, save even more money and start a vegetarian lifestyle.

    • October 20, 2011 9:15 am

      That’s a good suggestion. Cutting back even marginally on meat makes a big difference to the planet, your health, and your pocketbook.

  3. October 19, 2011 2:34 pm

    Willkommen To The Wonderful World Of BLOGGING!

    I KNOW You Will Be A SMASH And Better Than “Man About Couch”!

    I Know MY HOME GROWN Food Usually Tastes Better, Except Our CORN This Season Was Disappointing…

    WE Also Need MORE Organic Verharztes Bears!

    I Enjoy Your Thought On Thinking Little Shelonda!

    Also Devon Your HEAD Is Larger Than Most So Your Lips Will Be Large, BUT Not ABNORMAL…

    Lady Oregano OUT!

    • October 20, 2011 9:16 am

      It’s true. I don’t know how they came to the conclusion that people can’t tell the difference between organic and non because I certainly can. The Conway Farm produces some mighty spectacular veggies!

      I see you’ve learned the German word for gummy. I guess you’re all set now right?

What's your take?

